Exposed: One Year Later 12 October 2010

It’s been one year since I wrote the Exposed post.

One year since I took my binge filled, unhappy self in front of a self-timed camera and began to celebrate what my body has done for me. What my body looks like.

I didn’t think anything of it. I thought I’d get a couple of comments, maybe a high five. But I was wrong. It took off. I feel incredibly honoured to be a part of something which has resonated with people all over the world. I feel privileged.

We are within a culture of not only media, but a head space which has become toxic. I fell pray to it. I wanted to be the perfect woman on the outside and forgot about my soul. I forgot, shut away, hid, suffocated and buried all of the beautiful things my body has…and more importantly what amazing things it has done for me.

Our bodies are amazing.

What I have come to realise over the past year, is that our spirit is the one thing which shines through no matter what shape, size, gender, or ability we are. In the past year my body really hasn’t changed. It hasn’t lost any weight, it hasn’t bounced back from 2 years of a binge eating disorder.

BUT, my spirit has.

I look at my body in a totally different light.I am beginning to evaluate its spirit, what comes out of its pores and radiates from its eyes and shakes in its hips. I am beginning to see the body-spirit connection. I didn’t know if I’d take another photo, but I did. In my swimming suit. It was one of the most therapeutic things I’ve done in a long time. I started to see my beauty again.

I can’t speak for the 60 others who have Exposed themselves. I can’t speak for the countless e-mails, tweets and messages I have gotten saying thank you for the inspiration that these amazing bloggers have given them. I don’t want to.

What I can say is that being Exposed is about being raw with who you are, letting your spirit be at peace and marinading in the beauty of what body you have been given. It may not be perfect, but to sit and embrace where you are in this moment is probably one of the most powerful things you can do. In fact, I believe it will get you to your optimal level of spirit-body connection.

What I know is that sitting in a swimming suit, for all the world to see is damn scary. But I’ll do it until I die, if it means that one person is given a newly found appreciation for who they are.

Thoughts?

~Mish

here are those who have reflected on their Exposed posts

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Exposed: One Year Later 12 October 2010

  1. Pingback: Exposed … *Gulp* — Mel Gets Fit

Leave a Reply

